Elliott Kuzyk - Young Sailor of the Year 2016

Wednesday 11 January, 2017

Congratulations to our Topper World Champion, Elliott Kuzyk (GBR), who was named the boats.com/Yachting Journalist Association 2016 Young Sailor of the Year!

Elliott had the very best day of his life yesterday when he met all of his sailing heroes from the Ocean Yacht Racing, Olympic Dinghies, and Power Boat Racing Worlds, at the premier boating event of the year, (the Oscars of sailing, yachting and power boating) the ‘Yachtsman of the Year’ and the ‘Young Sailor of the Year’ awards ceremony at Trinity House, London. The main sponsors of the event are boats.com and it’s organised annually by the Yachting Journalists’ Association (YJA).

150 of the most famous and decorated yachting people past and present were there for the gala luncheon presentation, along with the BBC, Radio Channels, and countless journalists, and Elliott Kuzyk was voted the winner for the ‘Young Sailor of the Year’ for winning the Topper World Championships in 2016, the Winter U.K. Regatta 2016, and 5 x Southern Area Championships, in succession.

The sailors were then escorted to the London Boat Show main stage where a live presentation was made once again and this was filmed too.

The presentation was shown on the BBC news last evening and covered on radio and streamed live on facebook.

There will be significant publicity in the following weeks for the Topper Class and Elliott as the press report on the proceedings.

Elliott, Ali and Mike would like to extend their heartiest thanks once again to the whole of ITCA (GBR) Topper Class for their 100% support with Elliott’s sailing, training and beyond, as without this none of this would have been possible over the years, thank you!

Volvo round the world skipper Ian Walker praised the efforts of hard working parents who support their youngsters to achieve their dreams. The event was also attended by many sailing ‘heroes’ such as Sir Robin Knox-Johnston CBE and two times Olympic gold medallist Rodney Pattisson MBE.

Elliott said “I’m so happy to win this. There are a lot of great names on this trophy: I feel very proud to have won. It’s been a great day.”

Those names include: Ben Ainslie, Ellen MacArthur, Nick Thompson and 2015 winner Eleanor Poole, making this the second year in a row that a Topper sailor has won the title.

Recent news


Title Sponsors

Partner Sponsors